Naomi Wolf Scared Me.

For that matter, so did Cartoon Pig Dog.  Now how would these two nice people scare someone they’ve never met?

Words, my friends, words… and you should be scared too… If you aren’t I hope that by the end of this article, you’ll write your own blog entry titled “SwinePrincess Scared Me”.

I beg you to please take the time to read Naomi Wolf’s two articles in Huffington Post: The Plan Part I and The Plan Part II: Sarah “Evita” Palin, the Muse of the Coming Police State.

In my opinion, we (the people of the United States of America) may well have suffered what amounts to a catastrophic failure.  Alarmist language, you say?  I hope so.  We have been asleep.  Snoozing for 8 years. Lulled into a false sense of security by the person who seized the opportunity presented or (according to theorists — some with tinfoil hats, some without) created the opportunity, we have failed to recognize some very important signs along the way. Wolf outlines ten steps to a totalitarian, fascist government: they are (from Daily Paul):

The ten steps:

1. Invoke a terrifying internal and external enemy

2. Create a gulag

3. Develop a thug caste (Blackwater USA)

4. Set up an internal surveillance system

5. Harass citizens’ groups

6. Engage in arbitrary detention and release

7. Target key individuals

8. Control the press

9. Dissent equals treason

10. Suspend the rule of law

I implore you to take 43 minutes out of your life and listen to Naomi Wolf’s brilliant discussion of the subject on YouTube.  Wolf is even more compelling in the video than in writing.  She is a reasonable, non-threatening (as she calls herself) short Jewish woman who is the mom of a teenager…and when she speaks she could be giving a history lesson and is… she discusses the actions taken by Hitler and Germany leading up to Hitler’s totalitarian regime in a calm, reasonable, non-hysterical way that almost, not quite, but almost, makes you want to say… well it can’t be THAT bad.  But that calmness makes you realize that it is that bad.

Listening to her, I was reminded of a close friend of my mom’s who, at the age of 5 with her mother, father and 2 year old brother and infant sister, escaped from Germany into France, made their way across France, got on a boat and came to the US in 1940.  “Paula” (we’ll call her) was told by her mother (I am weeping as I type this so please excuse any typos) “I can’t carry you because I have to carry your sister.  Your father has to carry your brother, so you have to run from tree to tree.  Hide from anyone who might see you because those people want to hurt you.  Stay close to me Paula, but hide if you see anyone.”

Sounds like movie dialog right?  But it isn’t.  I have heard her tell the story. Put yourself in Paula’s mother’s shoes for a moment… Three children, two adults, what do you do? Can you imagine having to tell your 5 year old to hide from the bad people who were coming to kill her? I have a five year old niece.  She is smart enough to take care of her self if she were told this.  She would take it seriously.  I can’t accept that it would come to this, but then, there’s Paula.

If I am paranoid, it is with good reason.  See I also knew people Paula’s age who had numbers tattooed on their forearms.  Paula didn’t because her parents woke up before it was too late.

We have to wake up earlier than Paula’s parents.  We have to wake up now and stop this before it gets to the point where we have to figure out how we are going to cross a border into Canada or Mexico.

.

© 2008

3 thoughts on “Naomi Wolf Scared Me.

  1. arkangel3 says:

    I’ve just spent some time watching the video and read the statements of Naomi Wolf…and she (and you) are absolutely correct. In some irony, when she laid out all the steps that lead to Dictatorship and Fascism, the inescapable truth of the matter is we have passed 9 of the 10 benchmarks. All that is left now is Martial Law to be declared, and I fear that is not too far off.

    When Habeas Corpus was in effect suspended, I was outraged. The very Rule of Law that went back as far as the Magna Carta was thrown out the window. Keith Olbermann had a Special Comment on that very night that was indeed very telling:

    At the end of his talk, and at the end of Ms. Wolf’s talk, there was one commonality: the need to place the Tyrants of Freedom and Justice on trial, and if found guilty, put them in jail. Unless they are made to be held accountable for the very assault on Freedom they espouse, there will be more Tyrants. Then they can truly say, “Mission Accomplished”.

    I agree. They must be tried for the overthrow of the rightful government of the United States of America in 2000 and 2004 and the abridgment of rights guaranteed to us under the Constitution of the United States of America in 2006 and 2007 (any others I’m missing?), gross mismanagement of the resources of the United States… I don’t know… there’s probably a dozen other counts we could come up with as well. One of the things that struck me dumb in the video when Wolf related that she had to have habeas corpus explained to her by a lawyer so that she could fully understand what had happened. I understand her dismay, because that is the way I feel about the current economic crisis… I never thought I’d need to “know that” for this “test”…

Leave a Reply

